Adventure Time 1.1

“What are you waiting on?  God has already given you an exit strategy!  He has provided a way of escape for you!  Get up and use it!  Take your life back, take your joy back, and take your peace back!” 

Dear Diary,

I’m back with part two.  When we left off, our family had just found out that my husband got the job in Georgia, and that we would be moving.  I had been sitting on the couch feeling hopeless when he received the call, and that all changed in the blink of an eye.  I burst into tears yet again, but this time it was out of relief, and I began praising and thanking the Lord.

I’d like to say it was all easy-peasy after that, but it wasn’t.  My parents were not happy that we would be moving.  When I mentioned it to my dad, his reply was, “The Holy Spirit wouldn’t tell you to move away from your family.”  My reply was, “Well, I guess you don’t know the Holy Spirit very well then do you?” All throughout the Bible we see God sending people out from their homeland to another of His choosing.  My friend would always tell me, “Our ministry is geographical,” meaning God will move us to where He can use us. He may move us across the world simply to minister to one person.

The attack on the kids began then.  Dad would tell me that the kids would suffer if they were away from their grandparents; that it would not be good for them.  I would tell him, “God will take care of them.”  After all, God loves my children more than I do, and I trust Him to not do something that would be detrimental to their well-being.  I thought of all the missionaries who have moved away from their families, and all of the others I know who live far away from their families, yet their children have not suffered in the least bit. They’re ok!

Dad knew he couldn’t get to me using “the kids will suffer” anymore, so he took to the kids.  He began asking the kids if they were going to miss him, and telling them all the things they were going to miss out on.  He would ask them about our financial situation, and what we would do if our house didn’t sell.  Fabulous idea. Let’s lay a guilt trip on three young children and attempt to instill fear in them (insert sarcasm).  Now here’s the awesome part – my children would ALWAYS come back with the Word of God!  They would tell dad that they’re going to be ok, and that we have to do what God wants us to do.  They are fully aware that the blessing is there waiting on the other side, and that God is good to us and will do us no harm! Boy was I one proud mama!

It was finally time for us to make our first trip to Georgia.  We would be needing a place to stay, so my husband and I set out to find a house to rent, being our home had not sold yet.  I had a total meltdown in the driveway of the very first house we looked at.  The realtor had taken us through the house, which was ok UNTIL I opened the refrigerator, the stove, and the toilet seat.  Bugs fell out everywhere!! Not just little bugs.  They were big bugs!  I was horrified to say the least. I was ready to give up already and forget about moving.

Our next stop was to Scott’s new workplace to sign some papers.  Upon arrival, the secretary handed us a packet of papers with information about a house that was for rent. We went and looked at the house, and I about fell over.  God had it all planned out! He picked out our rental house, which was PERFECT in my eyes! We didn’t have to continue looking (we were also on a really tight schedule)!  It had just went up for rent, and we were the first ones to get to it.  The house was painted in all my favorite house colors, the backyard was fenced in and full of beautiful rose bushes and hydrangeas, and it was huge compared to what we had been living in.

We went back to the hotel that night and I had another breakdown.  I felt so weak I could barely sit up in bed.  My husband had to fetch the ice bucket for me because my dinner was about to make a reappearance. I prayed, he prayed, it all left, and I was able to sleep good the rest of the night.  Good thing because the drive home, and the packing would begin the next morning.

The Word the Lord gave me that I held onto during these times –

“What are you waiting on?  God has already given you an exit strategy!  He has provided a way of escape for you!  Get up and use it!  Take your life back, take your joy back, and take your peace back!” 

To be continued…

3 thoughts on “Adventure Time 1.1

Leave a Reply

