A Mild Rant and a Little Rave

Dear Diary,

Do you know what drives me batty? People. To be more specific, it’s the attention seekers that get on my nerves. They spend endless hours each day on Facebook complaining about all their problems, yet when given a sound course of action, they refuse to take it. These attention seekers will throw out something that others will view as shocking or troublesome, and once they receive the response or pity they were craving, “Oh you poor, poor thing,” they’ll switch their story up once again. People! You’re driving the sane to the edge of the cliff!

The attention seeker often expresses a desire for change, but then continues doing the same thing they’ve always done in the same exact way. They feed off from the attention they receive and feel like a big fat nobody if they don’t get it. Attention seekers don’t normally like to hear this, but I’m going to say it anyway.  Anyone can change their life if they really want to.

A genuine desire to change one’s life brings a realization that it’s not possible to continue doing what they’ve always done and see different results. It’s important for the attention seekers to be honest with themselves, admit that they’re starved for attention, and start switching things up!  It’s also time for them to quit playing the victim…especially the Christian attention seekers.  This leads me to the next thing I find disturbing.

“I love Jesus, and I pray, but I don’t go to church, and I don’t read my Bible, but I am a good person and I do good things.”  (That is one crazy run-on huh?)  Unfortunately this is how many people sound to me – like nails on a chalkboard. They spew bucket loads of woe-is-me slime on social media, but they’re unwilling to do what they need to do to gain the victory. I know this sounds harsh, but it’s true. If they would just realize they’re getting nowhere on their own, seek Jesus, get to church, and get in their Bibles, they would start to make some progress! Changing the way they speak, to speaking life instead of death, would also catapult them forward into a better life. Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and people are running around destroying their lives instead of building them up! How awesome is it that the Lord gives us the ability to direct the course of our lives by simply speaking?

Well, I guess I’ll end my rant now.  After all, I’m not writing a book.  Good night.

Leave a Reply

